By Simon Dixon, John Heal, Phillip Planel and Nick Hasted
Issue 17, Summer, 2007 pp. 22-27.
A great fire at Crediton in 1743 tore through the West Town. The thatched roofs and timber frames caught like tinder, and onlookers watched the ‘impending conflagration’ as it devastated the area. A map of Crediton, held by the Devon Record Office, provides an insight into what the town would have looked like before the terrible fire. The recovery of a missing part of the map has provided detailed information about eighteenth century Crediton and has sparked new research. Simon Dixon, John Heal, Philip Planel and Nick Hastead use the map to reconstruct this old market town and explore its trade and industry.
Only Associate Members of the Regional History Centre can access full articles.